Gingerbread Melt Down

I admit it. That’s the first step, right? Admitting you have a problem? My baking addiction is one thing, but my addiction to all things gingerbread is on a whole different level.

I LOVE IT. The moment season hits and gingerbread is available for eating, drinking, burning in candles….I am there. I spend too much money on it but I don’t care. It makes me happy and at this time in my life that is the key: find things that make you happy and just do them.

Sometimes happiness is easy to find, like with a batch of chocolate chip cookies in The Basics section, and other times you really have to put yourself out there and dig for it.

This was one of those times.

I decided it would be a good idea to make gingerbread cupcakes, FROM SCRATCH. That’s right folks, no box batter for this girl. I WENT FOR IT! 

I followed this recipe and they turned out amazing. Seriously. 

I topped them off with some old fashion gingerbread men that your nana would eat, and they were a hit.

The only change I made was that I added butter to the cinnamon cream cheese frosting. A bit of a buttercream/cream cheese hybrid if you will.

And the people at work who ate them BUGGED OUT. I thought the frosting was going to suck, and it didn’t.

And that made me happy. It was a good baking therapy session if I do say so myself.

See ya later.

Leave a comment

Filed under Yummy Yummy Goodness

Leave a Reply

