How My Baking Addiction Started

Since I was on Tumblr before deciding to switch to wordpress, we have a little catching up to do. My dad passed away at the end of September 2011 and my baking addiction kicked in right around Halloween, the perfect time to start baking treats to bring to co-workers and friends for the holiday.

My mother sent me home from what we now have dubbed the BBQ-uneral with a ton of baking supplies. For reference, my dad didn’t want a funeral, he specifically requested we have a BBQ after he passed.

His favorite times in recent years were spent hanging out on the back porch BBQing with my mom and our neighbors. Rather than make us all suffer through the awkwardness and terrible sadness of a funeral, he asked my mom to throw a huge BBQ in his name. And so we did.

Upon returning home from what was the most terrifying and sad time of my life, I decided to brighten things up with some bright orange cupcakes. Boyfriend and I decorated them together, and it was an overall decent holiday regardless of what had happened a mere few weeks earlier. Ain’t nothin gonna get in my way of enjoying halloween and my pops wouldn’t have had it any other way.

These are just vanilla cupcakes with orange cream frosting. And sprinkles. Lots of sprinkles.

You can find the basic vanilla cupcakes recipe in “The Basics” tab of the blog. Add about a teaspoon of orange extract too it, and voila. You’ve got orange flavored cupcakes. Add a drop or two of orange food coloring, and BOOM. Orange frosting. Pretty simple.

And that’s it really. Until next time (which will be in about 2 seconds because I am back posting to give this blog some excitement)….

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

