Creative Therapy: Gold Leaf Necklace

One of my most favorite things ever is when I find inspiration from other people’s creativity.

With the days kind of blending together as I patiently await interview phone calls (those are totally coming, right?! hahahaha) I have been trying to keep my mind occupied with creative projects.

Luckily for me the other day my sister in law, aka sister in lawn, showed me a project her and her friend Megan created for sister in lawn and brother bear’s new apartment in NYC.

Inspired by the awesome living room wall hanging below, the girls set off to create a replica using fake leaves and some gold spray paint.

(Original piece from Elle Decor)

(Sister in lawn’s piece, handmade!)

How incredible is that?!?! So awesome!

I loved it so much that I  was contemplating just straight up stealing her idea and making one for our apartment, but alas, I chose to do something different with the same gold leaves, and I made a necklace!

This one was REALLY easy, and I think it came out pretttty neat.

Here is what you will need:

Fake leaves (any shape/style you’d like!)
Gold acrylic or fabric paint
Gold Chain
Necklace Clasp
Pliers
Bling Embellishment Strips (Like these from Michaels. I used the square crystal ones.)
Scissors
Exacto Knife

Alright SO! Let’s start.

First, I cut different sized leafs off of the vine they came on. Leave a little bit of “branch” on it when you cut as it will make painting easier leaving  you something to hold on to. I wanted my necklace to have the largest leaf in the middle and then gradually move into smaller leaves to create a grecian crown type look, so I cut one large leaf, and four smaller ones of various sizes.

Next, paint your first coat of gold onto the leaf. I used a blow dryer in between coats to speed up the drying process. In total, I put on three coats of paint just to give it that REALLY gold look.

Repeat this step on all of your leaves.

Next, I used my pliers to remove some of the circular hoops from the fake gold chain I bought. I then made a tiny slit with my exacto knife onto the top center (or as close to the center as possible) area of the leaf. After that, I put the gold hoop through and repeated this step with all of my leaves.

Take your gold chain, and measure how long you want it around your neck. Make note of that length, remove any excess chain and then lay it on your table with it folded in half. This will allow you to see where the center of your chain necklace lays.

Attach the first leaf to the center of the chain. I had to use a wrench from my tool kit to firmly close the hoop for a strong attachment but thats because my jewelry pliers are miniature. Just a suggestion if you need to, the wrench worked magically.

Once I put all of my leaves on, I decided to add a little bling from another project I was making, and add some sparkle to each leaf.

You can leave these off if blinged out gold leaf necklaces just aren’t your thing!

Lastly, attach your clasp to the ends of your necklace, and you are done!

One thing I thought about after I finished was that in the future I would like to use small grommets on the leaves to attach the hoops. This will make it more durable, and less like to rip.

And that’s it! Another day, another craft project on the books.

Thanks for stopping by and happy crafting!

Leave a comment

Filed under Creative Therapy

Leave a Reply

