Big Apple Sinatra Cupcakes: A Going Away Treat For My Family

So yeah. My brother and sister in law(n) are moving to the Big Apple in t-minus 1 day and I am drowning my sorrows in whiskey filled butter cream. What can I say? Sugar makes me happy.

(Brother and sister in law(n). Clearly not their going away party but cute pic!)

Last night was their going away party, and I knew I wanted to bake them something delicious as my way of saying farewell and good luck and here is a stiff “drink” to get you through all of the goodbyes!

I made what I’ve dubbed the Big Apple Sinatra cupcake. It’s an apple cinnamon cupcake, with a whiskey brown sugar butter cream topped with a whiskey cinnamon apple compote.

The apples represent the Big Apple of course, and the whiskey because it was Frank Sinatra’s drink of choice.

I made this apple cinnamon cupcake recipe (omitting the chopped apples, and using apple juice instead of water/milk) while also adding in a tbsp of whiskey to the batter.

I baked those up, and started on the compote. I didn’t use the filling recipe from the one above, because I wanted to experiment a bit with what I thought would taste good.

So, I chopped up 3 granny smith apples, threw them into a pan with 1 tbsp of butter, and just started dumping cinnamon on until they looked nice and covered. I would say in total I used about 1 tsp of cinnamon, maybe a bit more.

After they had sauteed for a bit, I added 1/4 cup of water. Continued to cook it on medium heat until the apples were soft but not total mush. I waited until the end to add the whiskey because I didn’t want the alcohol to burn off. I added about 3 tbsp of whiskey (I prefer to use Crown Royale because it is sweet!!)

Once that was all done, I put the apples compote in the fridge.

Next up is the butter cream. I like to think that frostings have become a bit of a speciality of mine, and I am ALWAYS working off of a basic butter cream recipe but substituting whatever flavor I want for the normal tbsp of cream you would use in a vanilla recipe.

So. For the buttercream:

1 cup of butter (2 sticks)
2 cups of powdered sugar
1 cup of brown sugar
3 tbsp of whiskey
1 tsp of vanilla

Start by creaming together the butter and brown sugar. You want your butter at room temperature, but if you are in a rush the easiest thing to do is slice the butter thinly which will make it easier to cream.

Next, add in 1 tbsp of whiskey. Then a cup of powdered sugar, then more whiskey, then powdered sugar. You get the idea. Alternate between wet and dry. Add in the vanilla in between your dry and wet additions any time during the process.

As always, if you find your frosting to be too wet, add more powdered sugar.

Now its time to decorate.

Before I started frosting I dumped a liiiiiittttllle more whiskey over the apples just to make sure they packed a punch.

Then I piped little “cups” of frosting on top, added the compte to the middle, and there you have it folks. Delicious apple cinnamon whiskey cupcakes.

Since I had a little bit of frosting and apples left over, boyfriend, his brother Dane and I all started taking shots of frosting and apple compote. It. Was. Awesome.

If you have any questions about the recipe, give me a shout in the comments.

Thanks for stopping by, happy eats, and much love to you all.

1 Comment

Filed under Yummy Yummy Goodness

One response to “Big Apple Sinatra Cupcakes: A Going Away Treat For My Family

  1. Pingback: Drunken Desserts: Apple & Whiskey Cupcakes | Weeklysauce

Leave a Reply

